top of page

Why I chose actuarial science?

An overnight decision turned to the greatest boon.

Think about when you were 17 or 18 years old, just about to start college, deciding what career path to choose, what college to go to, an anxious moment wasn't it?

If only this were true for all of us.

If you could relate to that, then great! But if you couldn't, that's okay too because you make up the majority of the student population.


Think again, this time think a little harder and a little further back. Many students aged 17 already know what course and college they want to go to, more so they have been preparing for it for past three to four years. There is one thing high school movies got right, the pressure to apply to colleges. How as soon as kids enter 9th grade everything becomes about college applications, from grades to curriculum activities, social work, your social media presence EVERYTHING!


It was slightly different for me. I didn't have a plan like the rest. For the worst or best, I didn't feel the need to have a plan.

As 16-year-olds all of us are conditioned to think alike, plan alike, why though? It has been proven a thousand times in the past several decades, kids don't end up in the same place no matter the school, teachers, or friends.

I was fortunate enough to have parents who let me do all things that I genuinely had an interest in. Be it academics, dance, or basketball.

And this continued till my 12th grade. I was done with my finals and still had no plan. What's more is that there seemed to be no course combination that had math, physics, and economics, my favorite subjects.


So my father asked me what exactly would I like to study?

I told him just that :- "Any course which has plenty of maths, physics, and economics"

He searched a bit, got a few references from relatives, then got back to tell me that I should pursue Actuarial Science. I was surprised to know that such a course even existed.

I found a college that provided a degree in it, admissions close a day after, and there I was filling my final application form. I was so unsure of it even though it's exactly what I wanted to learn. But one week in that college and I knew this has to be my future.

This is why I chose actuarial science, I like what I learn and I learn what I like as simple as that. And here I am, after three years of bachelor's in science in the said field, writing an article about how that single overnight decision turned into the greatest boon of my life.


If you are like me, young or old still struggling to find your career, all you have to do is ask yourself what you would really like to learn.

Finally, to quote Phoebe Buffay from F.R.I.E.N.D.S if you are saying today "I don't even have a pla.." that's okay because unlike others, your secret to success could be not having a plan.






bottom of page